Telegram is one of the most feature-rich messaging apps available right now, and one of these features allows users to delete multiple messages in a conversation for a specific day or date range. With this tool, users can delete messages in a conversation by their date, instead of deleting the entire conversation or manually searching for specific texts.
Telegram has received several updates recently, and it’s obvious that the developers are trying to make it much more than an all-in-one messaging app. In addition, Telegram has a good reputation when it comes to privacy and security since it offers various options, including Secret Chats, Self-Destructing Media, Proxy Servers, and more. Telegram even allows its users to delete a message for both the sender and receiver, adding an additional layer of privacy.
Related: Which Is The Better WhatsApp Alternative: Signal Or Telegram?
Telegram users can delete any message by tapping and holding it, and then choosing the Delete option. They can then specify if the message is deleted only for them, or the other participant in the chat as well. However, users might find it tricky to delete older messages since they will have to scroll through their chat history and manually select the messages to be deleted. That’s where Telegram’s Calendar feature comes into play, letting users delete messages sent on a specific day or a date range, e.g., April 1 to April 15.
Delete Telegram Messages by Date Range
In order to delete multiple messages on Telegram, open the conversation with the contact and tap on any date in the chat to access the calendar. The date bar appears right above the first message for a specific date, and it’s available on all platforms, including Android, iOS, and Windows. After clicking on the date bar, the calendar will appear. Telegram’s calendar comes with a straightforward design, and users can click on any date to view the sent and received messages on that date.
The Telegram calendar has a Select Days feature, which works only for one-on-one chats. When selected, it allows the user to choose specific dates (from and to). After selecting the dates, users can tap on the Clear History option to permanently delete all messages sent and received during the chosen date range. A pop-up window will appear asking users if they want to delete the messages for the other person too. Users can also select the Enable Auto Delete option, which, if activated, permanently deletes every new message exchanged with that particular contact on Telegram after a set amount of time.